Karen Cotter, County Clerk, Sevier County Clerk's Office
Requirements for Marriage License In Tennessee >
A Tennessee marriage license must be obtained from any County Clerk's office (in any court house) in our state.
There is no waiting period nor a blood test required in Tennessee to attain the marriage license.
Both parties must be present to obtain the license.
Proof of age is required by a valid driver's license; (if applicants do not have a driver's license, they may use a state-issued I.D., a valid passport or certified birth certificate.)
Applicants do not have to reside in this state for the marriage to be legal world wide.
Licenses are only valid for 30 days after their issue. (If the marriage is not solemnized and documented by a minister's signature within 30 days from issue date, it becomes void)
Federal guidelines require the ceremony be performed in the state in which the license originated. Licenses obtained in ANY OTHER state will can not be honored in TN.
If applicants are under the age of 18, both parents or legal guardians must sign the marriage certificate. No appointments are necessary to obtain the license.
A bill passed by the state senate on July 15, 2001 has increased the price of a marriage license in Tennessee.
The County Court Clerk's office accepts cash, Visa, and Mastercard for payment.
SEE Packages See Chapel Testimonials Directions E-Mail Us!
You can now apply online if you are obtaining your marriage license in Sevier County. (You can also pay the license fee online,)
After clicking the link below, you will be asked to click a security window so your information will remain private. Click on the "yes" button to proceed. Once there, you will see a yellow box midway to the right that says "Pre-Application" Click that box.
Click here for Pre Application
If anyone is under the age of 18 years of age, contact the main county clerk's office to obtain the requirements for minors
Book your reception with us! Great savings!
(call for pricing)
Gatlinburg Shilling Center -Reagan Drive, Gatlinburg
Monday and Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 12 noon and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Sevier County Courthouse -Court Avenue, Sevierville
Monday--Thurs., 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday 8am - 6pm (865) 453-5502.
Pigeon Forge City Hall -Pine Mountain Road, Pigeon Forge
9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturdays only. .
Back to Homepage